BlackFacts Details

Award-Winning Literary and Scholarly Works by African Americans (to 2013)

The following is a list of major awards won by African Americans for literary, journalistic, and scholarly writing compiled by San Diego State University Librarian Robert Fikes, Jr.  The list includes all awards earned by these writers for fiction and non fiction.  Links to specific prizes appear immediately below.  The entire list follows at the end.  If you have any questions or suggestions concerning this list please contact Mr. Fikes.  

African Studies Association Melville Herskovits Awards

American Academy of Diplomacy Book Award

American Bar Association Silver Gavel Awards in Law

American Education Research Association Book Award

American Education Studies Association Book Award

American Historical Association and Affiliates Awards

American Institute of Physics Award

American Political Science Association Awards

American Sociological Association Book Awards

American Studies Association

ASCAP Deems Taylor Award for Music Criticism

Carl Sandburg Award

Child Magazine Best Parenting Book

Christian Booksellers Association Christy Award

Edgar Allan Poe Award

Gertrude Stein Award

Grand Prix Policier

Jack Kerouac Literary Prize

Jean Stein Award of the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters

Kingsley Tuffs Poetry Award

Law and Economics Center Prize

Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize

Locus Award for Science Fiction

London Sunday Times Book of the Year

Louisville Grawemeyer Award in Religion

Macavity Award for Mystery Writing

Medieval Academy of America Haskins Medal

Modern Language Association

National Book Award

National Book Critics Circle Award

National Religious Book Award

Nebula Awards for Science Fiction

Newbery Medal

New York Drama Critics Circle Award

Nobel Prize

Obie Award

O’Henry Prize

Paul Davidoff Award for Outstanding Book

PEN/Faulkner Award

Poetry Society of America Awards

Pulitzer Prize

Shamus Award

Society of Urban Anthropology Anthony Leeds Prize

Southern Historical Association H.L. Mitchell Award

Southern Political Science Award

Story Prize

National Trust for Historic Preservation